Roy Brooks: Detroit Jazz Alive Performance

Roy Brooks, drummer and composer, performs for Detroit Jazz Alive, an on-air program broadcast on public radio station WDET.


Jim Gallert at WDET Studios


Roy Brooks – Percussion

Emmanuel Riggins – Keyboards

Special Guests:

Flash Beaver – Tap Dancing

Joan Crawford – Vocals

Run of Show

“Muy Hombre” (written by Roy Brooks)

“Mr. Lucky” (written by Henry Mancini)

“The Brown Bomber” (written by Roy Brooks)

“Giant Steps” (written by John Coltrane)

“The Drumist” (written by Roy Brooks)

“Untitled”* (unknown composer)

“Samba Del Sol” (written by Roy Brooks)

“Theloniously Speaking” (written by Roy Brooks)

*Introduced by Brooks as, “Dedicated to all my mentors, past and present.”

Leave a Reply