Community Jazz History Series (1989)

The Graystone International Jazz Museum Community Jazz History Series was a project funded by Neighborhood Builder’s Alliance and under the direction of then Board Member Larry Gabriel. Interviews were conducted by Gabriel as well as journalist W. Kim Heron. The project was completed in 1989 and includes fourteen of “Detroit’s finest local musicians on videotape.” The tapes were digitized in 2014 by Detroit Sound Conservancy. 

The series includes:

Marcus Belgrave (missing)

Thomas “Beans” Bowles

Roy Brooks

Kenn Cox

Charlie Gabriel (missing)

Percy Gabriel (missing)

Russell Green (missing)

Lamont Hamilton

Wendell Harrison

Charles V. Moore

Alma Smith

Ellariz Thompson Lucas

Earl Van Riper

Jimmy Wilkins


Have a story or a question about this collection? Please contact us via email at or call direct at 313-444-8242

Comments are closed.